ECTS System

Common procedures guarantee academic recognition of studies abroad. They help to measure and compare the learning outcomes and to transfer the received credits from one institution to another. Bilateral agreements are based on the principle of mutual trust and confidence; higher education institutions use an effective quality assurance system and the rules of the European Credit Transfer System accordingly.

  1. 1 full academic year = 60 credit points
  2. 1 semester = 30 credit points

ECTS grading scale at  EAVA:

ECTS Grade
A or 5
Excellent (91-100%)
B or 4
Very good (81-90%)
C or 3
Good (71-80%)
D or 2
Satisfactory (61-70%)
E or 1
Sufficient (51-60%)
F or 0
Insufficient (0-50%)                                                                        
student has acquired material at least on half of the required level (51-100%)
student has not acquired material at least on half of the required level (0-50%)

*The method of non-differentiated assessment of the learning outcomes is assessment of achievement of study outputs in case of which the following is marked:

  1. Equal to or exceeding the minimum determined level “P” – passed
  2. Lower than minimum determined level outcome “F” – failed

Positive result (passed) in speciality specific subjects demands acquired knowledge minimum 51 % of the material referred in subject syllabus.

Passing the subject with a sufficient result an international exchange student is guaranteed ECTS credit points as fixed in the learning agreement.